the problem with the way we pray for people

img_9420

I’ve noticed that a lot of the time, we pray for people as if God’s not involved or aware of what’s going on. Like we ask him to heal someone or we ask him to change their behavior. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of praying for my friends but I think it’s with the wrong motives. I’ve prayed that they would change a certain way they handle something. We pray a lot for wishes to be granted. And I’ve heard that a lot, that we tend to look at God as if he’s a genie or something and I’ve understood but not really understood that until recently.

I just realized that we offer to pray for people and then ask God to fulfill their requests, hoping that if God answers their prayer the way they want, they’ll become a Christian. I may be wrong, but I don’t think it really works like that.

The problem with the way we pray for people is that we need to start praying for their hearts and their souls. 

Instead of praying for my friend who doesn’t know Jesus, that she would have joy or wisdom or protection – which don’t get me wrong I can still pray these things over her, they’re all good things – I also need to be praying that she would fall in love with Jesus. That he would grab a hold of her heart and she would experience him in her everyday life. Cause I think that’s the most important thing: falling in love with Jesus. And then all the other good things follow: like joy, wisdom, protection…

One thought on “the problem with the way we pray for people

Leave a Reply

