Daily Prompt: Candle

via Daily Prompt: Candle

Candles. How could something that smells so good be so risky? Don’t get me wrong, I like candles, but only when they’re on a store shelf. Here’s why…

One morning, my mom woke me up to get ready for school. It was early. Too early. It took me forever to get out of bed and it was just one of those times that I really truly needed to go back to sleep. I dragged my heavy, exhausted self to the bathroom downstairs to wash my face and brush my teeth.

I peed and thought about how the pine candle my mom was burning on the sink smelled really good. Then I squeezed my UltraBrite toothpaste onto my frayed toothbrush with my eyes half closed and leaned over the sink to clean my pearly whites. Suddenly I heard a noise that I can’t explain in any way besides my hair was on fire and burning. I screamed as a lot of my hair fell into the sink and I rushed to get my burning hair under the running water. I continued screaming and my mom rushed in to see what was happening and ordered me to lean over the bathtub and close my eyes while she washed my hair. Oodles and oodles of my hair fell out and I cried like never before, because all I could picture was that I would spend the rest of my life looking like Caillou. Nobody wants to look like Caillou.

caillou

When my mom was done washing my hair, we put it up in a towel which made me look like a terrorist and I went and curled up on my parents’ bed and cried some more, avoiding looking at my hair as long as possible. But I did finally look at my hair and I wasn’t Caillou. Somehow you couldn’t really tell that I was missing half of my hair. My mom is the MVP. She called my good friend, and hair stylist, Crystal, to see if she could try to salvage my hair. Crystal is also the MVP. She made me feel better about everything. Plus my mom bought me McDonald’s for breakfast and let me go to school late.

The sad thing is that hair takes forever to grow back. So although you can’t really tell that I caught my hair on fire, I also can’t do anything with it. So for the past 5 months, the only hairdo I’ve had is braids. But hey at least they’re cute. All I want for Christmas is healthy, normal, not-singed hair.

The only candles we’ve used since then are the little fake ones that for some reason my dad seems to have an overflowing abundance of.

Moral of the story: don’t burn candles because the only purpose they seem to serve is catching things on fire, plus they’re really expensive so maybe just save that money and go buy some fuzzy socks or something. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Candle

  1. Angela Jackson says:

    Awwww you described that all so well KoKo I can see it as it happened by your very good descriptive words. So glad it really doesn’t show because God has blessed you with very thick and nice hair. Away with candles says I…. away with them indeedy. love you muchly

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

