To My Dearest Jesus

sunriseschmunrise

To my dearest Jesus,

Honestly, I don’t quite know what to say to you right now. I am  literally at a loss for words every single time I try to express my gratitude to you. I can’t thank you enough. I can’t thank you enough for how much love you have for me. I can’t thank you enough for the countless, billions of times you’ve proven yourself to me – as if dying the way you did wasn’t enough – you continue to show yourself to me every. Single. Day.

Thank you, Jesus for this beautiful life you’ve given me. Thank you for putting me in the best family there is. Thanks for being with me constantly, never leaving my side. Thanks for comforting me during those times that I’m broken, sitting in bed, eating ice cream, crying. Thank you for understanding. Jesus, thank you for making every single thing work for good. Thank you for giving me the most beautiful friends and for saving my life. Thank you for cheering me up and for being the reason I smile. Jesus, thank you for Peeps, thank you for Oreo ice cream, thank you for Netflix. Jesus, thank you for continuously healing me and for showing me what grace is and for redeeming me.

Thank you for dying for me. That brutal death. Thank you for thinking about ME when you were struggling to breathe. Jesus, thank you for Easter. God, I can’t imagine how it feels for you to be reminded every year of what happened. I wonder if those scars remind you of the pain, but then you see us and we remind you of the victory. I can’t imagine how you must feel, Jesus.

Thank you for sunrises. Thank you for hope. Thank you for peace. And forgiveness. And love – thank you for BEING LOVE. Jesus, thank you for cornfields and for surrounding us constantly with reminders of who you are. Jesus, I pray that you would help me – and everyone who reads this – to stop for a second every so often to just admire you. God, it’s the least I can do. Jesus, all I can say is thank you. And I’m sure there is so much more that I could say right now, I just can’t really formulate it all. But Jesus, honestly all I can say is thank you.

Love, Kolaiah Joy

2 thoughts on “To My Dearest Jesus

Leave a Reply

