Childish

sunrise

I often catch myself wishing I was a little kid again and reminiscing on my childhood memories. My entire life, I’ve been told a thousand times to just enjoy being young and not be too eager to grow up and stuff and I’ve never really understood that until now that I AM growing up. I wish I could go back and truly enjoy making forts out of the couch cushions, or walking to the park with my babysitter, or gluing googly eyes on cotton balls and naming them.

But it doesn’t really help to regret not enjoying it enough. I think the best thing I can do right now is enjoy being the young I am right now because I’m not completely grown up yet, right? So in between looking for a job and having to pay for gas and insurance, I think it’s safe to say I don’t have to grow up fully, yet.

I can still color in coloring books and watch PBS kids and eat peanut butter sandwiches. I can still go adventuring outside and go to bed at 8:30 and make Valentine’s Day cards with construction paper and markers for the people I love. I like to use the phrase, “YOLO” all the time in reference to, well, pretty much all of this. You Only Live Once so why not play in the mud and make cookies and doodle in my Bible? You only live once so I think it’s safe to say I don’t need to worry about all the pointless things as much as I do because it’s okay to be childish sometimes. After all, Jesus did say that those who are childlike will enter the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:3)

I challenge you to pause for a second sometime this week and do something you wouldn’t normally do as an adult. Like pick some flowers or watch the clouds or go skateboarding or eat spaghetti with your hands. Do something childish and thank Jesus for the ability to do that.

3 thoughts on “Childish

Leave a Reply

