Half A Body

[photo creds to my amazing sister, Iliiiiiiiii…..]
The other day I was at a barbecue with my best friend and her family. We were eating our food outside cause it was good weather or whatever. Anyway, I finished eating and my paper plate just sat there in front of me and eventually a weird little bug settles onto my plastic fork. Then it started crawling around my plate and I was like, “I’m gonna murder you, ya lil’ nasty!” I grabbed my fork and tried to stab it but the little twerp was one of those crunchy bugs that DON’T die. So finally I was able to cut it in half, the hamburger way, and for a second I had triumphed until the front half of the body continued on with exploring my plate!!! I was horrified. But at least it wasn’t the rear end that kept moving. That would have been bizarre.

Then it got deep.

I thought about how that weird situation applies to life. To me. To you. To anybody really.

Sometimes we’re like a bug. People bigger than us don’t see why we as smaller things matter in this world. But we go after our “food” anyway. Then sometimes people get all grossed out because we’re not as high-up in the rankings as them. So they try to break us. They try to discourage us. But we continue on through our obsta-goals (my dad made up that word… obstacles on the way to your goals…) even if it’s just with half a body. I’ll take what I can get. So I hope this sort of makes sense. I guess what I’m tryna say is go after your goals no matter what. Even if it’s just with half a body.

“A river cuts through rock, not because of its power, but because of its persistence.” -Jim Watkins

Leave a Reply

