I’m Their Shoe

IMG_1518

So, like, two days ago, the supreme court legalized gay marriage or whatever all the fancy terms are for that. Everyone’s making kind of a big deal about it, as they always do about anything they care about. I feel like I’m a lost shoe sitting in the middle of a divided highway. I have so many questions. I’m confused while the world and homosexuals are driving their opinions and anger and defensiveness at me while in the opposite lane, Christians are shooting their “deep” quotes about loving everybody and not judging and being a light. Meanwhile I’m just a shoe sitting here wondering what I’m supposed to be doing because I’m a world changer but how is a single shoe supposed to change the world? And sometimes a car spins a rock at me, completely unaware, and that hurts and I wonder what I did to deserve that but maybe it’s not a personal thing. And I’m kind of just chilling there in the midst of complete chaos trying to figure out what I personally think of all this. And thank God my mom taught me to learn to be okay when everything around me isn’t. I’m okay even though some of the rhinestones start to fall off my twinkle-toe because life is just rough. I’m okay even though I can’t find answers to my questions.

So I talk to Jesus about everything and ask him what he thinks I should do and eventually my little shoe-heart settles on something. I’ll offer myself as what they need. I’ll be the shoe that helps them get where they need to be. Cause sometimes people are just missing a shoe, ya know? And in the moment, they don’t realize the need. They just know something is missing so they try to substitute it for something else when everything really points to my boi, Jesus. Maybe I won’t stand in a stadium and explain why homosexuality isn’t good, but I’ll love them. Like Jesus. He’s also like a shoe. The most important thing for me to do right now is to love God and others, right?

So maybe Jesus’ love through me and to the world will get their blistered, wandering feet through life’s gravel and to Jesus’ place of residence.

“Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.” -Jesus; John 13:35

2 thoughts on “I’m Their Shoe

Leave a Reply

