Parenting

racoon pawprints

My parents are pretty great. There are things I like about them and how they parent me, and there are things I don’t like. I think I’ll be a good mom and hopefully I’ll make good kids. When I’m a parent, I will probably not let my kids have any electronics whatsoever (maybe a calculator and an alarm clock but that’s basically it.) They will have pets and toys and each other to entertain themselves with. Don’t get me wrong, I love my phone and TV and I don’t wish this fate upon myself but I think technology is ruining everything. My kids’ generation will most likely be so deranged because of phones and TV and media. But my children will be divergent and intelligent and their pupils won’t be dilated and they will have good posture.

I will probably home school my kids through about 8th grade and send them to actual school for high school. You may ask, “Why do you want to do that, Kolaiah?” Because age 0 through 13 are prime years for essential development of a good personality, disposition, and walk with God. I will also do activities and things to lead my kids to Jesus. I don’t know how, considering I’m personally not good at it, but I’ll cross that tightrope when I get there. My children and I are going to explore the world, play hooky, go on picnics, and bond like crazy as they grow up and I will not leave them to figure everything out on their own with the beasts of this world – AKA: public schoolers.

I hate hurting people, but my kids will be spanked (probably by my husband) like my parents did for me. I got spanked a lot when I was young, I think up until I was 12 years old. (I was sort of an evil child.) But I can say that I wouldn’t be who I am today if my parents had let me do what I want and get what I want. Another thing, I’m not going to spoil my children. They will work for things and I will definitely have more than one kid cause only childs don’t always turn out right (please don’t be offended if you’re reading this and you’re an only child, I’m obviously not referring to you.) I think you learn many lessons and good character traits from siblings.

My family is going to laugh all the time, sometimes cry, and we’ll love each other tons and eat organic.

“But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve… but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 24:15

3 thoughts on “Parenting

  1. lifesatoenail says:

    Umm literally YES! Maybe our kids can be friends…cause I’m about to make em live in the 80’s. Haha trust me ol Bartolemeu Oaken Douglas Leester Cornelius Elmer Wonton will be of grand character 😉

    Like

  2. Brian says:

    One of the best things my parents ever did for me was buy me a computer when I was in 5th grade. I understand how kids these days do spend way too much time in front of electronics – my kids are perfect examples of that… but in all things, balance. Being a ludite (look it up) is not the answer either. I remember all the “outdoor time” I had with my neighbor friends, and I wouldn’t wish some of those times on anyone’s kids. Fights, vile talk, hours of being insulted over and over, doing incredibly dangerous and stupid things… I was much better off when I was “in front of the box”. There is a fictional book out there, (and for the life of me I can’t remember the title or author – and I searched and couldn’t find it either.) where computers have been around for over 100 years, then suddenly someone invents the Printing Press and books just start to get printed. I know – how could you have computers without books… it’s fiction – so just play along for a while. All the kids really take to the books and spend hours upon hours reading. The parents start to get concerned that the kids are not using their computers any more and instead are now engaged in this media that has no ability to use logic, to make decisions, has no moving pictures and no interaction – and they are horrified! It kind of makes sense if you think about it. If I read a book, I am lead down a single path… I am pretty much tied to the outcome that the author planned for me. I am only able to deduce up to the level of what the author can bring me to. Contrast that to a video game. Now I know most people immediately think bad thoughts when they hear those two words… “Video… Game” – and they think pac-man… or the slightly more modern people think Mario Bros…… and the ones with Teens think of GTA3….4… or 5 – and thus they immediately think – Pac-Man, no point/no value…. Mario Bros, complete HUGE time sink with no value… or GTA!!!! YIKES – Horrible rated-X video game that no one of any age should play. I agree with ALL of these assessments. But what about those games they have never heard of? Portal 1 and 2? Those games caused me to look at puzzle solving in a whole new way. They definitely increased my intelligence. Or Minecraft – the game everyone has heard about. Minecraft is teaching 5th graders things I didn’t learn until collage. Don’t believe me? Ask any serious Minecraft player about how redstone works… then ask someone who just completed their 2 year associates degree in electrical engineering how electricity works. You will get amazingly similar answers. Fully working 8 bit and 16 bit computers have been created INSIDE of Minecraft. This is more than killing zombies and crafting your diamond pick axe. Ok – a little too much on Minecraft. How about a recent game I just completed called Valiant Hearts: The Great War – not only an EXCELLENT walk through of the European theater in World War I, but also one of the most touching “experiences” I have ever gone through. I would hold that story up to any modern day movie and I guarantee you that it will pull on your heart strings 10x more. Also – I learned so much more about WWI than I ever did in 4 years of High School history books or History Channel documentaries. I cried at the end – seriously. It was that touching. The Walking Dead video games are much more emotional than any of the seasons. The Bioshock games (specifically 1 and 2) are some of the best works of fiction I have ever experienced – also cried at the end of all of those. All these games I just listed rank higher than any…. ANY movie I have ever seen as far as how engaged and emotionally moved I was. AND THEN there is the social aspect. So many people say that kids who play games all the time are anti-social. Funny, they say the same thing about homeschooled kids. But I would disagree. When my boys play online, it is typically with a group of friends that they constantly hang out with…. online. No – they have never met them face to face, but they daily are forced to work out problems, help each other out, figure out a common solution so that everyone wins, and develop team work. If they don’t – they fail. They all fail. Sometimes it is against another team of kids, sometimes they all work together against a common foe.

    I guess this long rant is just my way of trying to change popular culture thinking that heads buried in electronics is the devil. Remember this – when we were kids, all we did was ride our bikes around the neighborhood…. Other than the element of exercise, what did that really teach us? I know there are 100 arguments against everything I said up here…. but before we write off electronics, ask yourself this – what kind of job will your technically-illiterate child be able to get in 2025 that my technically-literate child couldn’t write a script or program a robot to do? That thought might scare you, but do you see us heading in any other direction?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

