Prayers Count

One day I was sitting in algebra class when I heard numerous police and ambulance sirens outside. I’ve learned to start praying whenever I hear sirens, so I was praying for protection and comfort for everyone involved in whatever was going on – that kind of thing. I didn’t think much of it until I later found out that at the intersection near my school there was a really bad wreck. Tragically, the passenger of one car was instantly killed. I was really bummed. For about a second I was kind of weak in faith and thought, “Wait, God, did you not hear me praying? Did that not make a difference at all? Why did this lady die?”. But the thing is that I KNOW God hears my prayers because He has answered them in SO MANY ways my entire life. Sadly, bad things do happen – I know that, but it sucks. That little moment kind of stumped me as I was thinking about prayers.

Later in P.E., my best friend lost a piece of her necklace. Now, this necklace is like super special to her, I can’t think of a time when she wasn’t wearing it. I could tell she was super bummed but kept a good attitude about it. I prayed that God would help us find it and we briefly searched the floor during dodgeball but didn’t find it. After P.E. I was walking the perimeter of the gym and talking to God. I was like, “God, I know that you can help me find this…”

Sure enough, I looked a step ahead of me and the little key charm was right where we’d started running laps. I don’t quite understand everything and I don’t know why that lady died. But I do know God is good. He hears our prayers, anywhere from the big ones to the small ones and is delighted to answer them, but maybe not in the ways we expect. Maybe that lady came to Jesus in that split second of that wreck. I don’t know, but I do know that it’s not cool for us to be discouraged. We are called to be strong in our faith. To have faith to move mountains, even if it’s as small as a mustard seed.

“Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong.” 1 Corinthians 16:13

“They do not fear bad news: they confidently trust the Lord to care for them.” Psalm 112:7

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him…” Romans 8:28

One thought on “Prayers Count

Leave a Reply

